Students from Greater Bangor named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Officials with the National Merit Scholarship Corp. have named 17 students attending high schools in Penobscot County as semifinalists in the nationwide competition for some 7,500 scholarships worth more than $32 million to be awarded next spring.

The local area high school seniors are among 71 semifinalists from Maine and about 16,000 nationwide to advance in the competition operated by the privately funded, not-for-profit organization based in Evanston, Illinois.

About 1.6 million students in more than 22,000 high schools entered the competition by taking the qualifying test as juniors last year.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a national merit scholarship, according to the organization.

Semifinalists from Penobscot County schools are:

Bangor High School: Brooke E. Bowen, Charles F. Budd, Thomas Gause, Sarah E. Marcotte, Brendan F. Martin, David N. Rubin, Lily M. Waddell, Yun Wang.

John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor: Crystal A. Bell, Aria J. Fasse, Connor A. Libby.

Old Town High School: Alexander L. Moreira.

Orono High School: Samuel F. Holt, Grace E. Shemwell.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.